7.—Principal Heights in each Province and Territory—concluded

The state of the s			
Province and Height	Elevation	Province or Territory and Height	Elevation
British Columbia—continued	ft.	British Columbia—concluded	ft.
Coast Range— Mount Waddington. Tiedemann. Mount Tatlow. Skihist Mountain. Crown Mountain. St. Elias Mountains— *Mount Fairweather. *Mount Root. Columbia Mountains—	13,260 12,000 10,050 9,660 6,060 15,300 ² 12,860 ²	Rockies—concluded Mount Stephen. Cathedral Mountain Mount Gordon. President. Mount Odaray. Mount Laussedat. Mount Burgess.	10, 495 10, 464 10, 346 10, 287 10, 175 10, 035 8, 473
Monashee-		Yukon Territory	ļ
Mount Begbie	8,956 5,300	-	
Storm Hill Selkirks— Mount Sandford Mount Wheeler Selwyn Mount Dawson Adamant Mountain Grand Mountain Mount Sir Donald Iconoclast Mountain Mount Rogers Purcells— Mount Delphine Nelson Peak Rockies— Mount Robson Clemenceau Mount Goodsir Mount Bryce Resplendent Mount Bryce Resplendent Mount King George Consolation The Helmet Whitehorn Mountain	5,300 11,590 11,033 11,023 11,020 10,980 10,842 10,818 10,630 10,525 11,076 10,772 12,972 12,001 11,686 11,507 11,240 11,246 11,200 11,160	St. Elias Mountains— Mount Logan. *Mount St. Elias Mount Lucania. King Peak Mount Weele Mount Wood. *Mount Vancouver *Mount Hubbard Mount Hubbard Mount Hubbard Mount Alverstone McArthur Peak Mount Alverstone McArthur Peak Mount Augusta Strickland Mount Newton Mount Cook Mount Cook Mount Craig Badham Mount Malaspina Mount Malaspina Mount Jeannette Baird Mount Seattle	17, 130 16, 440 15, 880 15, 700 ³ 14, 950 ³ 14, 750 ³ 14, 400 14, 400 14, 070 13, 818 13, 811 13, 760 12, 625
Mount Huber. Geikie. Bush. Freshfield Mount Mummery. Mount Vaux *Mount Ball. Mount Sir Alexander. Churchill Peak.	11,051 11,016 11,000 10,945 10,918 10,881 10,8651 10,740 10,500	Northwest Territories Franklin Mountains— Mount Delthore. Mount Clark. Mount Rawlinson Nelson Head. Mount Pelly.	4,733 5,000 1,000

 $^{^{\}rm I}$ Part of the Alberta-British Columbia boundary. $^{\rm I}{\rm Part}$ of the Yukon-Alaska boundary.

Section 2.—Physical and Economic Features of the Provinces and Territories

Politically, Canada is divided into ten provinces and two territories. Each of the provinces is sovereign in its own sphere, as set out in the British North America Act of 1867 and its amendments, and as new provinces have been organized (see p. 83) they have been granted political status equivalent to that of the original provinces. The Yukon and Northwest Territories are administered by the Federal Government, although they are gaining an increasing voice in their affairs through elected representatives in the House of Commons, through elected representatives on the Territorial Councils, and through municipal and other local organizations. The main physical and economic features of each of the provinces and of the territories are described briefly in the 1956 Year Book at pp. 12-17. The physical characteristics of the provinces and territories are also covered very adequately in their relation to climate in the special article on The Climate of Canada which appears in the 1959 edition at pp. 23-51. Details of resources and their development are given in later chapters of this volume.

² Part of the British Columbia-Alaska boundary.